I had a lovely response to my review on Sense and Sensibility. Sorry, “anon”, but I think you forgot to hit the button a couple times. No need to be shy though! I asked for someone to point out Elinor declaring her love for Edward and you have. Thank you!

Hmm, I see your point and I agree that is Elinor expressing her feelings. I guess I’m more along the lines of Marianne because she’s more forward. Elinor says “Yes” and the rest is inner dialogue. I’m trying to imagine a close friend of mine (since I have no sisters) responding the same way. I would look at them in confusion. Is that it? That’s all you have to say? Just Yes?

Granted, she does leave the room crying and I was aware that was a big no-no, but again…she didn’t say anything. Now, if I was in the situation, would I be able to say a word? probably not. But after reading so much of Marianne’s outspokenness, Elinor’s behavior was just…dull to me. This is not to say that I hated Elinor it’s just…Marianne outshines her for me. 

Share Your Opinion

