Book Review: I Just Graduate…Now What? by Katherine Schwarzenegger

image

Review can also be found on my goodreads and on bloggingforbooks.

Rating: 3/5 stars

First, let me explain why I picked up this book. I just graduated from college in May, and I decided to take a year off before going into graduate school. I’m in that stage of “what am I going to do now”, so seeing this book, well, how could I not get it?

Now, I will be honest and say that I did not look at the author’s name at first. I picked up the book for its provocative title and its connection to my life. It was not until I read reviews on this book that I realized the author is the daughter to Arnold Schwarzenegger. Did that change my opinion on the book? Yes, it did. Was it in a negative way, not really. It’s more along the lines of “Oh, this is someone who came from a famous family…I wonder how this will go”. But, how could I feel that way knowing that every story I would read in this book would come from a wealthy famous person?

So, I ignored that part of my mind and read. This book was not what I expected. I thought I would get more advice than I did. I’ve read books on what to do after graduation, but this one WAS more focused on the stories of others. Their advice usually came at the end, in a five-seven sentence paragraph. Some of the stories I skipped completely, some I skipped and came back to it. I read the stories from people I knew or people who had jobs closer to what I wanted to do.

Reading their stories was interesting. It was not what I was expecting, but that does not mean it was a bad book. I’m pretty neutral about it, hence the three stars.

Reading Dates: June 30-July 4, 2014

I received this book for free from Blogging For Books for this review.

Share Your Opinion

