Book Review: Divergent by Veronica Roth

Review can also be found on my goodreads.

Rating: 4.75/5   5/5

What can I say? I love a good page turner. Divergent had my attention from page one, and refused to let go, even at the end. When I got to the end of the last chapter and turned the page to from the Q&A with the author, I was in shock.

Hold on! It can’t end here! Noooooooo

I loved the characters. Tris was strong, brave, and expressive. After reading so many stories with the female being head-over-heels for the guy in five minutes and only caring about him, Tris is refreshing. Yes, there is romance in this story, but it’s not the plot. Also, Tris sees the faults in Four, when he does something horrible it angers her. She doesn’t take things sitting down, which is something I like about her. 

I like that Tris questions everyone. She is realistic! Her friends Christina, Will, and Al turn on her throughout the story. Granted, Al’s betrayal is more severe, but the fact that they betray Tris and she begins to feel this unease toward them is realistic, especially in this world.

The world of Divergent! I love everything about it. It’s set in Chicago, so I have an easy time picturing the trains, the landscape, etc. How the factions are determined, what the factions are, what happens after initiation. It’s fantastic. I’m so curious on how our reality became Tris’ reality. What lead the world to separating into factions?

Another aspect I loved was that the main villain was female. You have to admit, a lot of sci-fi or fantasy novels have male villains. I have nothing against the male bad guy, but I love some variety. I want to see a female in power, obsessed with power, and willing to do whatever it takes to get it. So, I’m hoping Jeanine will be in the second book because I loved her.

I can go on and on about how I loved this book, focusing on more characters like Four, her mother, and even Peter! I’ll say this: Did I see the whole Erudites using the serum to control the Dauntless? Yes. Did I see the whole Tris’ mom being either Divergent or Dauntless? Yes. Did I see Four being Tobias? No (Honestly, I forgot all about the Tobias reference at the beginning so that was a shock). 

Still, were there predictable elements in this story? Yes, but I loved it all anyway. 

Reading Dates: July 7-17, 2014

Share Your Opinion

