Book Review: The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks

This review can also be found on the goodreads.

Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Reason for Reading: At my job at the library, we do book talks every month. For the month of December, we read books that have been turned into movies. This book along with The Neverending Story were my choices.

I’ve seen and adore the movie. The Indian in the Cupboard is one of those films that brings you back to your childhood. However, I had never read the book. I thought this would be the perfect time to do so.

Omri and Little Bear were just as I remembered (from the film at least). Little Bear was strong, confident, and knew what he wanted. Omri was fascinated but cared for Little Bear, which is not exactly how Patrick was to begin with.

From what I remember of the movie, Patrick did annoy me. His reactions to finding out Little Bear was real and how he treated Omri and Boone rubbed me the wrong way. Reading the book, it was worse. I’m sure the fact that I’m older has something to do it with it as well. Still, Patrick was an annoying little boy and he didn’t really respect Omri, Little Bear, or Boone until he got in trouble with the school principal.

The storyline was good. It was a fast read and I enjoyed it. My only complaint was that Boone’s dialogue was written with his southern accent. When I had to read his dialogue, it would take some time to decipher what he was trying to say, and it would pull me out of the narrative. Boone speaks a lot, so this happened often. This is the only reason I did not give the book five stars.

I recently found out this book is part of a series, but I don’t think I will continue it.

Final Thoughts: Blast from the past, but that accent ruined it.

Reading Dates: December 4-9,2014 

Share Your Opinion

