Reading Process: Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë

This is my first time reading Wuthering Heights, and it’s taking a long time for me to get into this story.

I thought it was because it’s written in the perspective of an outsider, someone not part of the romantic couple. After reading Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Jane Eyre, I’m used to reading the story from the perspective of the main female, the woman in the relationship.

Instead, I’m reading from Lockwood’s point of view, and I don’t have any feelings for him. He’s just sort of…giving me information. Well, to be fair, the housekeeper (Nelly as I had to look up her name) is the one giving me all the information.

This story at this point is more telling than showing, in a way. It’s told from flashbacks but it’s still showing the relationships and interactions between all the characters.

I’m just having a difficult time getting into this story, but I’ll struggle through it.

smile

Share Your Opinion

