Book Review: Feed (Newsflesh series, #1) by Mira Grant

Goodreads:

The year was 2014. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop.

The infection spread, virus blocks taking over bodies and minds with one, unstoppable command: FEED. Now, twenty years after the Rising, bloggers Georgia and Shaun Mason are on the trail of the biggest story of their lives – the dark conspiracy behind the infected.

The truth will get out, even if it kills them.

Reason for Reading: I was in a funk because In the Flesh was canceled, and I needed something to aid my zombie fix (never thought I’d say that). I was also interested in that the main characters were bloggers.

It’s been  a few years since I’ve cried over a book. I am happy to say Feed has broken that trend. This book just took me for an amazing ride, that I didn’t think I would want to get on in the first place. For one, this story is focused on politics, not really the zombies. I’m not a political girl. Never was and never will be. However, I was willing to read about Georgia (goes by George), Shaun, and Buffy’s adventure as they join a Republican candidate for the President of the United States’ press team.

Those three were just great to read about. George is the narrator during this story, but you read Shaun and Buffy’s perspectives through their blog posts which are spread throughout the book (along with George’s). I loved George’s voice, I thought her relationship with her brother Shaun was amazing, and I was happy to read about a strong female character who had a backbone and wasn’t worried about finding some guy to fall in love with. She was only looking for the truth and wanting to report it.

I should mention this now, if you’re looking for romance, don’t choose this book. Like I said, George isn’t looking for a relationship, neither is Shaun, and Buffy’s small romantic interactions are that, small.

I read a few reviews on Goodreads and I noticed people mentioning it’s a long read, that it’s a bit repetitive. There are a few moments where it seems to be longer than he needed to be, but those are very few.

If you’re looking for conspiracies, zombie apocalypse, sibling love, an interesting and possible future of bloggers being the real news anchors, speedy chases from zombie hordes, sarcastic comments, or young 20 somethings traveling in a van with cameras, guns, and a need to find out the who, what, where, when, and why,

well, you’ve found the right book.

My rating: 5/5 stars 

Did I mention it’s part of a series? I think I should mention that.

One thought on “Book Review: Feed (Newsflesh series, #1) by Mira Grant

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fed by Mira Grant (Newsflesh Trilogy #1.5) | Books: Adventures on Every Page

Share Your Opinion

