Book Review: Fed by Mira Grant (Newsflesh Trilogy #1.5)

Goodreads:

An alternate ending to the first novel in the Newsflesh trilogy, Feed.

It can be read also on the webpage of orbit books – orbitbooks.net

Be advised there are major spoilers for FEED contained therein. If you haven’t read FEED yet, don’t go any further. These books are fantastic as the many Newsflesh fans will tell you. You’ll want to enjoy every surprising twist and turn on what has been one wild ride for the Mason siblings.

But if the crew of After the End Times are old friends of yours, then by all means continue and read FED or download a pdf. Available at orbitbook.net.

Reason for Reading: I had finished Feed, the first book in the series (you can read my review here), and I learned about the alternate ending when looking for the next book.

I loved, loved, LOVED how Feed ended. Did it break my heart? Yes. Would I want it any other way? Nope.

I was okay with the alternate ending, but I’m happy the author decided not to go with it. How Feed ended was unpredictable, heart-wrenching, and fantastic in every way. This version I had expected. I thought it would happen a little later on, but I thought this version would happen.

I also thought this version was rushed. At first, I thought I had accidentally skipped a few pages because something was referenced that hadn’t happened yet. Because of that, I thought it was rushed and in a strange order when it comes to the narrative and the blog posts.

Also, this ending would have made the second book completely different, at least as far as I can tell from the summary for Deadline.

Many reviews I have read for this (after I read it for myself, of course) said that the author basically took the ending for Feed and changed a couple names. In a way, that’s true. There are some differences, but if you were expecting a happy alternate ending or a complete 180, that doesn’t happen.

Overall, okay but I liked what was published better. Still can’t wait to read Deadline.

Rating: 2/5 stars

Share Your Opinion

