Top Ten Tuesday: Top 10 Historical Settings I Love

toptentuesday2

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week could focus on historical or futuristic settings. I chose my top ten historical settings that I love and/or want to see more of. Here we go!

Early 19th century England
I love love love Pride and Prejudice, so it is no surprise that early 19th century England would be on this list. It’s a time of particular manners, strict social/economic structures, and is a perfect time period for dramatic love stories and commentary on marriage, family, women, and so much more.

5th/6th century Europe
Maybe I should be more specific? I love Arthurian legends, and I believe they tend to be around this time period. Knights and jousts and battles to the death. Need I say more?

8th-6th century BC/Ancient Greece
This is for the Greek mythology. I am a huge fan of the myths, and I will read as much as I can with stories set in this time period or use Greek myths.

Historical periods in China
Sadly, I cannot be specific with this one because I have not read a lot of stories with this type of setting. Luckily, I’ve found a few that I can’t wait to read, so I hope to be able to write a post later on what historical periods in China I like the most.

Dark Ages Europe
Another period I have not read a lot of, but one I wish I did. This time period would provide a lot of drama, tension, and suspense. I need to look for stories with this.

Historical periods in India
I can honestly think of only one book that I’ve read that was set in India in the past. And it was great! I would love to read more.

Bohemian Revolution in France
While I haven’t read any books, that I can think of, Moulin Rouge is my favorite movie of all time. If I can find books in that time period, that would be fantastic!

 

So if you were counting, I didn’t reach ten. You may have also noticed I had a lot of time periods and settings in Europe. While I am interested in novels set in numerous places and times, these just happen to be my favorite.

What are your favorite historical settings? What do you wish you could read more of? Do you have any suggestions for me based on my favorites? Let me know! I would love to hear your thoughts.

Until next time fellow adventurers!

Share Your Opinion

