Friday 56 Meme: Week 5

I’m a day late but with babysitting and celebrating a friend’s birthday, I haven’t been by my computer.

Freda’s Voice hosts the Friday 56 meme, and I wanted to take part. Here are the rules:

1. Find a book and turn to page 56 (e-books, go to 56% of the book or however you would like)

2. Find a line(s) that interest you and post (No spoilers)!

That’s it. Oh! If you do it, you should add yourself to her linky which you can find on her page.

Here we go!

When I came closer, the statue blinked its eyes, raised one clawed foot, and said in a surprisingly squeaky, high voice, “No one can come in unless they say my name three times backwards.”

Aha, a riddle. I loved riddles. Although this one could have been a little harder to crack. “You’re Frightful Freddy,” I said.

The statue lowered its beak majestically. “Just Freddy, if you don’t mind.”

“Oh, but that’s too simple,” I said, disappointed, and almost annoyed by the failure of my dream mind to think up anything better. “Ydderf, Ydderf, Ydderf.” -pg. 56

21469090

Goodreads Summary

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute…

I’m about halfway through this book, and I’m pretty on the fence. I’m interested in the plot. What are the boys doing in the graveyard? Why are they interested in Liv? How do these dreams work?

But at the same time, I’m very indifferent to the characters. The parents I don’t like at all. The boys are just…sort of there. I’m getting separate personalities for them, so it’s not like they’re one entity of The Boys, but I’m still not connecting to them. I don’t feel a spark that makes me go “Oh, I like this character and want to know more.”

Liv and her sister, they’re not connecting with me either. I don’t know! I feel bad that I’m not getting any feelings with this book!

I don’t want to make this a DNF, so I’m planning on finishing it. I hope things get a bit better.

Have you read this one? What were your thoughts?

Until next time my fellow adventurers!

2 thoughts on “Friday 56 Meme: Week 5

  1. Sorry to hear it has been a hard read for you. I am glad you are seeing it through though… sometimes the end can make or break the book. Well, it’s already broken for you so I guess it would shatter.
    Any rate, thank you for participating. Sorry I’m late to visit. 🙂

    Like

    • Oh, no need to apologize! Thank you for commenting, reading, and starting this activity that I could be a part of 🙂
      Yeah, this one was a tough read, but I did want to finish because like you said, the end could make or break the book. I hope you’re having a wonderful day!

      Like

Share Your Opinion

