Book Review: Dream A Little Dream by Kerstin Gier

21469090

Series: Yes. This is book #1
Publisher:
 Henry Holt and Co
Published Date: April 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, Mystery
My Source: Library
Links: Goodreads
Review Also On: Amazon and Goodreads

Goodreads Summary

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals.

The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her new school in London, the school where she’s starting over because her mom has moved them to a new country (again). But what’s really scaring Liv is that the dream boys seem to know things about her in real life, things they couldn’t possibly know–unless they actually are in her dreams? Luckily, Liv never could resist a good mystery, and all four of those boys are pretty cute….

My Review

Characters

I had a hard time from beginning to end, connecting to any of the characters. Liv, the main character, annoyed me to no end. She agreed to things that she shouldn’t have, and didn’t fight back when she should. The boys seemed flat to me until halfway through when I got to learn more about Arthur and Henry. Grayson and Jasper seemed to fall into the background in this book after the first 100 or so pages.

Liv’s parents’ personalities were horrid, so I didn’t like them. They also seemed unbelievable. How can her mother be that blind? Self-absorbed? Completely lacking any insight into her children? The father didn’t get much “air time,” so I can’t say much about him.

I liked Lottie. She was entertaining and actually cared about Liv and Mia. She had a bubbly personality and jumped off the page for me.

There were other characters like Emily, Anabel, and Persephone. Those three didn’t work for me either.

Plot

Because I was having such a hard time with the characters, I focused on the plot. Reading the summary, I had a completely different idea of where this story was going. A girl dreaming about 4 cute guys doing some weird things in a graveyard, and they seem to know things about her she only revealed in her dreams? Interesting.

Finding out this story is about a demonic deal/ritual that needs to play out, not so much.

At least, that’s not what I was looking for. Should I have expected it with the graveyard and dark magic rituals reference in the summary? Maybe. There could have been a number of reasons they were doing rituals. Maybe they would get supernatural abilities like how they’re about to interact with dreams the way they do. I don’t know.

Overall, this story was not what I thought it was going to be, and it didn’t work for me. That doesn’t mean it couldn’t be a good read for others. If you’re interested in a mystery, if you’re a fan of those horror movies where teens deal with Ouija boards or sit around reading mysterious Latin from an old book and weird stuff happens, you may enjoy this. This book also has the day-to-day life in high school storyline of the new girl in town, so that may grab your interest. Want a story about girl in the UK finding four very good looking boys that are super popular but want to socialize with her? Try this. Looking for a book with some romance, no love triangle, and innocent moments? Yeah, you can try this book. I can see how this can be appealing to some, so I do recommend if you’re interested in anything I just said above.

Rating: 1/5 STARS –While I finished this, it was a real struggle.

One thought on “Book Review: Dream A Little Dream by Kerstin Gier

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday #14: Outside the US | A Library of Sorts

Share Your Opinion

