BookCon 2016

Hello my fellow adventurers! It’s been a little while, but I haven’t forgotten about this blog or any of you. To sum up very quickly, I wasn’t feeling too well for a few days and then I was preparing for

BookCon

This was my first BookCon, and I was super happy that it was closer to me than New York (I live in the midwest) so I could attend. I was reading the website almost daily to see which authors were going, to find out how to get autographs from my favorites, planning booths and panels I was going to attend, how to get there, and so many other things. AND, I found out one of my friends from college who I haven’t seen in two years was going, so I met up with him.

Overall, it was a wonderful experience. My mom came with me, and we had a great time. She was even willing to stand in lines for me for autographs (Naomi Novik and Pierce Brown to be exact). She actually ended up taking more books home than me since she’s an educator and was looking for children’s books she could add to their library.

While it was super awesome, it was pretty hectic too. The lines were, well, I was in lines for at least 80% of the time, and I was there for over ten hours! Because of that, I didn’t go to any panels. Getting the wristbands for certain authors was stressful. I ended up missing out on Victoria Aveyard and Lauren Oliver, and I was super sad about that. I did get the one author I absolutely had to meet: Leigh Bardugo. Six of Crows was too amazing to explain, and reading that has made me want to read her Grisha Trilogy. I also met Sabaa Tahir, Danielle Paige, and Susan Dennard.

Now Susan Dennard was so wonderful! I actually found her on the floor and not at her book signing. I didn’t know I needed to buy the book from her booth during her signing, and I had just bought it at another booth. She was willing to sign it right then and there and take a picture with me. She was the first author I met and I was super nervous. She noticed my Ravenclaw lockscreen on my phone so we ended up talking Harry Potter for a little bit which was AMAZING. I just loved her book though, Truthwitch. Loved loved loved. So happy I was able to meet her, and she was so nice.

I could go on and on, but then this would be a really long post, so I’ll just get to the book haul.

20160515_111114.jpg

These are all the books that came home with me. The ones on the left are autographed!

I did take pictures with authors, but I’m not quite ready to share pictures of myself on here. Maybe I’ll update my about me page with one of my BookCon pictures. One day.

Did any of you go to BookCon? Who did you see, what books were you able to get? If you weren’t able to, are you going next year when it’s back in New York? 

Until next time!

 

Share Your Opinion

