Top Ten Tuesday #14: Outside the US

toptentuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. This week I’m going to share ten books that I have read that are set outside the United States.

This was a little harder than I thought, which makes me want to make a goal to read more books set outside the US. As always, clicking the book cover will send you to the book’s Goodreads page for easy adding-to-tbr access.

25517283 Set in the United Kingdom, this contemporary romance between an American girl and an English Prince will have you remembering movies like The Prince & Me and Princess Diaries. I also wrote a review for this one, found HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

26156203 Set in Russia, this YA fantasy will have you on the edge of your seat as you witness a battle to the death between two young enchanters. My review HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

281755 Set in Vietnam, this memoir is a heartbreaking and powerful story about a young Amerasian and his family left behind in Vietnam after the fall of Saigon.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9881723 Set in England, a romantic-historical fiction about a countess with a useless title and an earl that falls in love with her. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

29915954 Set in England (and a mythical place called Hayven), this fantasy novel follows a young girl who finds herself in the middle of a war in a world she did not know existed, a world where everyone has a magical gift. And now, so does she. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

25737655 Set in Japan, this historical fiction of a girl torn from her family and thrown into a civil war will have you entertained as she discovers who she really is. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23688792 Set in England, this historical fiction follows a woman and her suitors trying to find her magically gifted sister. However, not all is as it seems. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

22613366 Set in Nazi Germany and the United States, this historical fiction is about a young Austrian violinist who attempts to smuggle Jews out of Vienna and finds herself in the Auschwitz concentration camp mirroring a story about an art dealer searching for a painting of young violinist with startling blue eyes. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21469090 Set in England, this YA mystery is about a girl who has recently moved to England having strange dreams of boys in a cemetery. The weird thing is, these boys end up going to her school and they seem to know things about her that were only revealed in her dreams. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23383399 Set in Rome, this YA fantasy follows a young girl and she goes on a field trip in Rome and strange things start to happen while she’s there. She and her new friends have to solve the mystery. My review, HERE.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As you can see, most are set in the United Kingdom. I’m so sad that I’m not reading a lot of books outside of the U.S. and that are not in a fictional world or universe.  This needs to change.

What are some of your favorite books set outside the U.S.? And if you have any recommendations, please let me know in the comments!

Happy reading my fellow adventurers.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #14: Outside the US

  1. I had the same problem as you, though I felt like most of the books I’ve read are set in France, not the UK. Basically the only books I had for my list were historical fiction. I hadn’t really thought about how few modern books I have read with different settings, but now I want to fix this problem. Great list!

    Like

    • Yes! Oh, I am definitely checking out your list because I can’t remember any books I’ve read that were set in France. *nods* I think I’ll make a specific goal on reading different settings.

      Liked by 1 person

Share Your Opinion

