ARC Book Review: We Own The Night (Radio Hearts #2) by Ashley Poston

22901217

Publisher: Bloomsbury Spark
Published Date: June 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Series: Radio Hearts #2
My Source: ARC from netgalley
Links: Goodreads
Review Also On: Goodreads and Amazon

Goodreads Summary

“Happy midnight, my fellow Niteowls…”

As a candy store employee by day, and mysterious deejay “Niteowl” by night, eighteen-year-old Ingrid North is stuck between rock ‘n roll and a hard place. She can’t wait to get out of her tiny hometown of Steadfast, Nebraska (population three hundred and forty-seven) to chase her dreams, but small-town troubles keep getting in the way. She can’t abandon her grandmother with Alzheimer’s, or her best friend Micah–who she may or may not be in love with.

But for one hour each Saturday, she escapes all of that. On air, she isn’t timid, ugly-sweater-wearing Ingrid North. She’s the funny and daring Niteowl. Every boy’s manic pixie dream girl. Fearless. And there is one caller in particular– Dark and Brooding–whose raspy laugh and snarky humor is just sexy enough to take her mind off Micah. Not that she’s in love with Micah or anything. Cause she’s not.

As her grandmother slips further away and Micah begins dating a Mean-Girls-worthy nightmare, Ingrid runs to the mysterious Dark and Brooding as a disembodied voice to lean on, only to fall down a rabbit hole of punk rockstars, tabloid headlines, and kisses that taste like bubble tea. But the man behind the voice could be surprising in all the right, and wrong, ways.

And she just might find that her real life begins when Niteowl goes off the air.

My Review

I’ve been a bit of a book slump and MIA (as I’m sure you know), and I was having a really hard time finding a book that I wanted to read and would keep me interested from cover to cover. I finally found it in We Own the Night.

A sweet coming-of-age romance story about a girl graduating from high school who during the daylight hours is Ingrid North, a girl with three best friends with a crush on one while dealing with bullying, a mother who abandoned her, and a grandmother who is forgetting her. But at night she’s Niteowl, a sarcastic spitfire on the local radio who is starting to fall for a frequent caller nicknamed Dark and Brooding.

I enjoyed this story. I loved Ingrid. I wanted her to succeed in life and I felt connected with her in many ways. I think Ingrid and I could be really good friends. LD and Billie were great too. LD is that friend I think many girls wish they had, and Billie is a great solid character with a good backstory for his changes. Then there’s Micah, the friend Ingrid has a crush on. I’m not a huge fan of his. He can be pretty mean at times and I just can’t forgive someone who acts like that to certain people.

Niteowl’s on the air romance with Dark was cute. I really liked their conversations and I was hoping that something could come out of it.

Was this story super shocking? No. It’s predictable, but it doesn’t mean it’s not a good story to read. I like the writing format change when we, the readers, get to “listen” in on the radio show. I loved seeing the growth that Ingrid goes through during the story. And I loved her relationship with her grandmother.

If you’re looking for a nice contemporary with a quick read, I’d suggest this.

Rating: 3.5 STARS ~ A good book that has a nice YES factor to it.

I was given an advanced reader’s copy through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. 

Share Your Opinion

